Address

School of Government and Public Policy, University of Arizona, Tucson Arizona 85721 USA

Contact

©2017 BY BEYOND THE WATER'S EDGE. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

Resources

DATA SOURCES AND NEWS SOURCES

 

RESOURCES

The International Studies Association (ISA) is the umbrella association for IR scholars around the world. The papers presented at their conferences can be accessed on their web page at: https://www.isanet.org/ISA/About-ISA

The WWW Virtual Library of International Affairs Sources


Center for Security Studies (Zurich)


SIPRI provides comprehensive analysis of military spending and weapons transfer, at: https://www.sipri.org/databases

Data on International Crises (ICB) at:  http://www.cidcm.umd.edu/icb/

Data on Militarized Interstate Disputes:

http://www.correlatesofwar.org/data-sets/MIDs

Data on alliances can be found at COW and/or ATOP

Data and research on ethnic groups and conflict from ETH are here: https://icr.ethz.ch/data/ 

The Correlates of War (COW) project has a great deal of data on a variety of different dimensions at: http://www.correlatesofwar.org/data-sets

Data on Regime Types and Democratization: Polity IV:  http://www.systemicpeace.org/polity/polity4.htm

              Gleditsch modifications:  http://privatewww.essex.ac.uk/~ksg/polity.html

              Freedom House:  http://www.freedomhouse.org/template.cfm?page=1

              Polyarchy data base: http://www.prio.no/CSCW/Datasets/Governance/Vanhanens-index-of-democracy/

V-Dem produces a variety of indicators of democracy

IDEA (Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance) provides global state of democracy indices.


Historical information and data on GDP from the World Bank at: https://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.MKTP.KD and from Maddison at: http://www.ggdc.net/maddison/maddison-project/data.htm


Quality of Governance indicators (World Bank):  http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/WBI/EXTWBIGOVANTCOR/0,,contentMDK:20771165~menuPK:1866365~pagePK:64168445~piPK:64168309~theSitePK:1740530,00.html

Transparency International provides data on corruption and in summary here


Information on international organizations can be found in the Yearbook of International Organizations

Information and data on terrorism can be found at TRAC (https://www.trackingterrorism.org/ideology) and the Global Terrorism database (GTD) at: https://www.start.umd.edu/gtd/

Globalization measures:  http://globalization.kof.ethz.ch/


WTO Dispute Cases: https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/dispu_e/dispu_status_e.htm and by country:         https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/dispu_e/dispu_by_country_e.htm


Roper Center for polling data

Forecasting and analysis at the Pardee Center for International Futures

Carnegie Middle East Center here

The National Security Strategy Document of the U.S. (2017) is here

News sources:

    New York Times at: https://www.nytimes.com/

   Los Angeles Times at:  http://www.latimes.com/hp-2/ 

    Christian Science Monitor at https://www.csmonitor.com/

    Washington Post at https://www.washingtonpost.com/

Financial Times here 

Wall Street Journal here

The Guardian at: https://www.theguardian.com/world/series/world-news-guide  

  World Politics Review here

BBC World News at: http://www.bbc.com/news/world 

   Der Spiegel International at: http://www.spiegel.de/international/

   Associated Press at: https://www.ap.org/en-us/ 

   Japan Times at: https://www.japantimes.co.jp/ 

     Le Monde diplomatique at: http://mondediplo.com 

    The Hindu (India) at:  http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/ 

   Egypt Daily News at: https://www.egyptdailynews.com

   On Intelligence at: https://intelnews.org/

   Monkey Cage, a good blog by political scientists at https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/monkey-cage/?utm_term=.938ff77cb41e

   Foreign Affairs at: https://www.foreignaffairs.com/

   Foreign Policy at: http://foreignpolicy.com/ 

   National Public Radio (NPR) at: http://www.npr.org/

   Reuters at: https://www.reuters.com/

  Foreign Policy Research Institute here

Modern Diplomacy here

World Politics Review

   

Reuters Africa at: http://af.reuters.com.

For news sources on other regions of the world, browse here

NBR (National Bureau of Asian Research) here

Johnson's Russia List here  and here

PONARS on Central Asia

News with another perspective:

Pravda (Russian govt) at:  http://www.pravdareport.com/

Moscow Times here

South China Morning Post at: http://www.scmp.com/frontpage/international  

Xinhua News Agency (Chinese govt)at: http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/

Asia Times here

Aljazeera at: http://www.aljazeera.com/

The Jerusalem Post at: http://www.jpost.com/

Some Global and Regional Governance Issues:

    Slavery

    Climate Change, Migration, and Conflict

    The Governance of Cyberspace

    Nuclear proliferation: regime and threats

    Human Rights and data by countries

    International trade: WTO and disputes